Our yoga mats are on a mission. A mission to make yoga accessible for everyone, celebrate all bodies, and shake up the ‘yogi’ stereotype. Eco-friendly and available in a range of colours, each YoYoga mat is aligned to a particular chakra. Guidance markers and unrivalled grip let you practice yoga with confidence.

Join the YoYoga community
yoga chakras mat


yoga chakras mat

A Beginner’s Guide To Yoga Chakras

Understanding the chakras means understanding your body’s energy centre, allowing you to channel more confidence, creativity and happiness into your practice and your life.

 By understanding your chakra, you can tap into this pool of energy and direct it where you need it to go.

What are chakras?

According to ancient yogis, we each have a subtle body that can’t be seen or touched but is just as present as our physical beings. It is within our subtle bodies that energy flows and there are seven key points that are said to be powerful vortexes of this energy. These seven points are known as the chakras.

Why are chakras important?

Chakras are important because if energy is blocked from one or more of them, it can create an imbalance – and we don’t mean falling out of dancers pose. A blocked chakra can trigger an emotional, mental and/or physical disturbance, manifesting itself in a range of symptoms, from anxiety and stress to headaches and stomach issues. By understanding your chakra, you can tap into this pool of energy and direct it where you need it to go.

What are the chakras?

Muladhara or Root Chakra

  • Location – The base of the spine
  • Colour – Red
  • Image – A four-petaled lotus
  • Meaning – When your root chakra is open and aligned, you feel stable and grounded both physically and emotionally. It is linked to our four primal urges; food, sleep, sex and self-preservation.

Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra

  • Location – The pelvis
  • Colour – Orange
  • Image – A lotus with six petals
  • Meaning – This chakra is associated with our self-worth and in particular our feelings towards pleasure, sexuality and creativity. It helps us govern our emotions and desires, so we aren’t driven by them.

Manipura or Naval Chakra

  • Location – The upper abdomen
  • Colour – Yellow
  • Image – A downward or upward facing triangle
  • Meaning – Open your naval chakra and enjoy a boost in your self-esteem and self-confidence. It is said to help us navigate life with strength and purpose.

Anahata or Heart Chakra

  • Location – The heart centre
  • Colour – Green
  • Image – A six pointed star surrounded by twelve lotus petals
  • Meaning – As the name suggests, the heart chakra is associated with love, compassion and our relationships with others. It helps us feel peaceful and open.

Vishuddha or Throat Chakra

  • Location – The throat
  • Colour – Blue
  • Image – A downward facing triangle inside a sixteen petal lotus
  • Meaning – This chakra is all about communication and our ability to speak and listen with confidence and compassion. It helps us express ourselves and speak our truths.

Ajna or Third Eye Chakra

  • Location – Between the eyes
  • Colour – Indigo
  • Image – A transparent lotus with two petals
  • Meaning – Opening your third eye chakra will allow you to see the bigger picture and tap into your intuition and imagination. It is said to represent vision, prophecy and self-assurance.

Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

  • Location – The very top of your head
  • Colour – Violet or white
  • Image – A thousand petal lotus with aura
  • Meaning – The crown chakra links the entire body, representing enlightenment and a connection to our spirituality. Opening this chakra is said to bring us happiness and a connection with all things.

Most people feel an affinity with one of the seven chakras and understanding what this means will help open up a new level of positive energy. Personalise your yoga practice with your very own chakra mat designed to channel the forces you relate to the most.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop